top of page

9/9/2023 Cook, Gatton, Hamilton, and Heintzelman Take Home Track Championships on Saturday Night at Angola Motorsport Speedway


The action on for Hero’s and Champions Night at the races was kicked off with qualifying. In the Vore’s Welding and Steel Street Stocks it was Chad Richardson setting the bar with a time of 16.180 seconds. In the Shepherd’s Family Auto Group Front Wheel Drives Chip Heintzelman set fast time with a lap of 16.943 seconds. In the R.L. McCoy Modifieds Al Berry set the pace with a lap around the 3/8 mile with a time of 15.032 seconds. The Late Models Hunter Jack was the quickest of fifteen drivers with a lap of 15.309 seconds.


After qualifying the Steuben County Sheriff’s Department Honor Guard presented the state and nations colors while Officer Kline presented the National Anthem. It was followed by a tribute to the Nations hero’s.


Racing action was kicked off with two eight lap heats for the Vore’s Welding and Steel Street Stocks. Joe Muldoon Junior grabbed the first heat and Rick Rinehart won the fast heat. The Shepherd’s Family Group Front Wheel Drives ran two six lap heats with Bryce Hoffman and John Chilcote grabbing the checkered flag. In the R.L. McCoy Modifieds eight lap heats Russ Miller and Brandon Pulver were victorious. The Late Models ran two eight lap heats in which Kole Elkins won the first heat and Tony Dager tasted victory in the fast heat.


After a brief intermission it was time to go feature racing to decide the 2023 Championships. In the Vore’s Welding and Steel Street Stocks Parker Moyer needed a feature win to help him close the gap to point leader Jeremy Hamilton. Moyer did just that holding off all challengers and leading all twenty-five laps. He was followed across the line by Rick Rinehart in second and Chad Richardson in third. Hamilton’s fourth place finish was good enough to grab the championship by just two points. In the Shepherd’s Family Auto Group Front Wheel Drives. Chip Heintzelman would go on to win the championship by just taking the green flag. He ran strong but came up short on another feature win finishing second to first time winner Kyle Heintzelman. Ashley Chalfant finished in third. The R.L. McCoy Modifieds had a tight points battle between Mel Klein and Jordan Gatton coming into Championship night tied in the points. Jordan Gatton drove a clean race that featured all green flag laps. Gatton drove from his seventh starting spot to take over the top spot on lap twenty-four. Gatton, with the feature win, became a back-to-back champion. Finishing second was Austin Pulver and Zach Henderson in third. The final race of the night featured just one caution in the Late Model season championship feature. Tony Dager would dominate the race only to slip coming up off of turn two on the final lap to be passed by race winner and the 2023 track champion Tommy Cook. Dager finished second and Brent Jack came home in third.


Thank You to all the Drivers, Teams, Sponsors, Teams, Fans, & Raceday Team for your continued Support. We will see all of you back at the track in 2024! Stay tuned to Angola Motorsport Speedway on Facebook all winter long for updates on next years season!


2023 BANQUET PIC.png
bottom of page